lawlibrary Pro Bono

Recognizing Anne Arundel County Pro Bono Volunteers!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Law Library hosted the Annual Pro Bono Recognition Lunch on Tuesday, February 28 2017. This event recognizes and celebrates the attorneys who provide pro bono legal service in Anne Arundel County. Joan Bellistri, Law Librarian and Liaison, Court of Appeals’ Standing Committee on Pro Bono Legal Services, and the Hon. Ronald Silkworth, Circuit Court Judicial member of the Anne Arundel Local Pro Bono Committee, provided opening introductions. Administrative Judge, Hon. Laura Kiessling, thanked the volunteers for their service and introduced special guest, Chief Judge of the Maryland Court of Appeals, Hon. Mary Ellen Barbera. It was such an honor to have the Chief Judge recognize the work of Anne Arundel County pro bono attorneys. Hon. Barbera also helped, Tasnima Apol, Anne Arundel County Pro Bono Committee Chair, distribute the pro bono volunteer certificates.

Thank you to the Court Facilitators and attorney volunteers from the Maryland Volunteer Lawyers Service, the Law Library’s Ask a Lawyer in the Library program and Foreclosure Clinic and the annual Anne Arundel County Homeless Resource Day for your pro bono service! Check out our Program  to see the full list of volunteer attorneys and facilitators.

We had a great turnout for the event, and we would like to thank the following judges and magistrates from the Court of Appeals and the Circuit Court for Anne Arundel County joining us.

  • Hon. Mary Ellen Barbera
  • Hon. Laura Kiessling
  • Hon. Paul Harris
  • Hon. Michele Jaklitsch
  • Hon. Glenn Klavans
  • Hon. Stacy W. McCormack
  • Hon. Diane O. Leasure
  • Hon. William Mulford
  • Hon. Donna M. Schaeffer
  • Hon. Ronald Silkworth
  • Hon. Michael Wachs
  • Hon. Charles J. Muskin
  • Hon. Timothy P. Thurtle
  • Hon. Jennifer Cassel

Also, we would like to thank Douglas Hofstedt and Nancy Faulkner from Court Administration and Kim Klein, Erin McCarthy and Sarah Adams from Case Management for attending the Recognition Lunch. It was great to see Bonnie Sullivan and Susan Francis from Maryland Volunteer Lawyers Service. MVLS’ support of Anne Arundel County programs is much appreciated. Special recognition and thanks must also be given to the Maryland Judiciary’s Mediation and Conflict Resolution Office for funding the lunch provided by Main and Market.

Last, but not least, thank you to the Anne Arundel Local Pro Bono Committee for its leadership in providing pro bono service to Anne Arundel County! Chair, Tasnima Apol, Joan Bellistri, Anita Bailey, Nancy Faulkner, Kim Klein, Lisa Sarro,and Hon. Ronald Silkworth, all members of the committee, were present for the event.

By Joan Bellistri

Law Library Director for the Anne Arundel County Public Law Library

One reply on “Recognizing Anne Arundel County Pro Bono Volunteers!”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s